Genre Focus (February 2011): War Stories

February 9, 2011 at 2:12 pm 7 comments

For the month of February, Kong Chian Library will be focusing on the literary genre of War Stories.

From Senior Librarian Kris Koo:

In conjunction with the upcoming Total Defence Day, Kong Chian Library has displayed a collection of gripping war stories by some major writers of the 19th and 20th centuries. These stories remind us of the human dimension of war: the achievement and endurance as well as the anguish.

Now available are inspiring stories of action, courage, fear and friendship during wartime which are sure to grip you to the very end. Also ready to be borrowed are a number of Academy Award-winning war films of love, loss and heroism, must-see cinematic events that both enchant and enthrall:

  • Akira Kurosawa’s Dreams
  • Doctor Zhivago
  • Empire of the Sun
  • Hiroshima
  • Hamburger Hill
  • Hotel Rwanda
  • King Arthur: Director’s Cut
  • Kagemusha (The Shadow Warrior)
  • Lawrence of Arabia
  • Lovers Grief Over the Yellow River
  • Pearl Harbor
  • Troy
  • The Thin Red Line
  • The Fog of War
  • To End All Wars
  • We Were Soldiers
  • Windtalkers/Hart’s War
  • Wheat
Entry filed under: News, War Stories.

Worlds Enough and Time Library Exhibition: Singapore Voices (updated with new photos)

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shaun Wong  |  February 11, 2011 at 2:58 am

    My heart lightened when I saw that “Troy” was in the available list. I really am a fan of the story of Troy; watched the movie, played the game, read the book.

    Aside from that, I really like how the Kong Chian Library have themes each time they display a collection. I remember some time last year we had “Fantasy” as the theme, and I really enjoyed that as I really like reading fantasy books.

    For the genre on war stories, I must say that I am also very interested in it, but whenever I read a book on a war story, I feel the need to do heavy reading so as to truly feel the intensity and realism of the war itself. Sometimes though, I just feel like I am having a history reading lesson. That’s just my opinion though, so usually I read them during holidays. Anyway, I definitely will come down to the library some time to check out these books.

    Reply
  • 2. Benjamin  |  February 13, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    I look forward to this event as I have a passion for war stories. Ever since we have learnt about WW2 and the Japanese Occupation, I have been interested in such stories, even though I hope there would not be a war in the future.

    In my opinion, this ‘genre focus’ system would be able to attract more people to the library. I visit the library rarely, but after reading this post on the library blog, I think I might visit the library more often. Not only me, but I think other people might do the same thing.

    Reply
  • 3. Timothy  |  February 14, 2011 at 11:34 am

    I feel that war stories are very good to read and sometimes serve as an inspiration for some people. Though my favourite war shows are not on the list, I still can read more on the war about America and Germany (Normande, D-Day) from the books KC Library has provided. I also recommend war movies “Band of Brothers”; “Saving private ryan”.

    Reply
    • 4. Jason Erik Lundberg  |  February 14, 2011 at 11:51 am

      Which Timothy is this, please? (You left off your surname.)

      Reply
  • 5. Nathaniel Soon  |  April 20, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    As I was scrolling through the library blog, reading the different posts, I came across this, about a focus genre of “war”. I think that this genre is suitable for students as it will attract students due to it being interesting, and suitable. I found this genre was in conjunction with Total Defence, which is very suitable. However, as in Language Arts now, we are currently focusing on war, a suggestion is that perhaps the library can focus on a certain genre, that fits the Language Arts Programme, so students can easily access beneficial information.

    Reply
  • 6. Ng Guang-An 2O4 20  |  April 22, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    I read through the synopsis of the film, “Pearl Harbour”, and I found that it was actually quite a touching story. Although it was mostly talking about the horrors of World War 2, there were some hidden values of love and friendship inside the movie. I hope that the Kong Chian library will have it so I can borrow and watch it. šŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 7. Jason Erik Lundberg  |  April 22, 2011 at 7:18 pm

      I’ll see if we can’t order it; it’s a bit of an older film, so we may not be able to find it in the video stores.

      If you watch it, one thing to keep in mind is the portrayal of the Japanese military. It’s quite biased toward the Americans, to the point where many people who saw in the theatres came out saying, “Man, I totally want to bomb them again!” So you should consider the filmmaker’s choices and biases when you see it and make up your own mind about it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Library Club Leadership

Teachers In-Charge:
Mrs Rosalind Lee (SC)
Mdm Chan May Lun
Mdm Shieh Le-shiang
Mrs Kris Koo (Senior AO)
Mrs Wang Meng Juan (AO)

2011-12 ExCo:
Foo Yang Yi (Chairman)
Kervin Tay (Vice-Chairman)
Ian Wong (Training & Recruitment)
Zach Wang (Public Relations)
Joel Lee (Welfare)

February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Feeds


